top of page
  • Jax

Book Review: If I Never Met You

If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

Page Length: 431 pages

Genre: Contemporary Fiction, Romance, Romantic Comedy

Publication Date: 1 January 2020

Publisher: HarperCollins

Source: ARC via NetGalley

Stars:  5 out of 5



ABOUT IF I NEVER MET YOU


If faking love is this easy… how do you know when it’s real?


Laurie and Jamie have the perfect office romance

(They set the rules via email)


Everyone can see they’re head over heels

(They staged the photos)


This must be true love

(They’re faking it)


When Laurie is dumped by her partner of eighteen years, she’s blindsided. Not only does she feel humiliated, they still have to work together.

So when she gets stuck in the lift with handsome colleague Jamie, they hatch a plan to stage the perfect romance. Revenge will be sweet…

But this fauxmance is about to get complicated. You can’t break your heart in a fake relationship – can you?


My Review:


I was offered an early preview of Mhairi McFarlane's new book and I couldn’t wait to read it. I really enjoyed the start - and Mhairi really hits the nail on the head of the crux of the biological clock ticking inside a thirty-something.


When Laurie is dumped by her long-term boyfriend, that's bad enough. When it turns out he has a new girlfriend and she's already pregnant, Laurie's world implodes. She finds a friend in Jamie, the office cad, and when he offers her to chance to make her ex Dan jealous, it doesn't take much to persuade Laurie.


A great book! I really enjoyed the story, I couldn't put it down. And it was less of a will-they or won't-they than a who-will!


VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED


Thank you so much the publisher and NetGalley for providing me with a complimentary electronic copy in return for an honest review.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 by Jax / Angry Aubergines. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page